Hands Down, the Best Books I’ve Ever Read!

  1. Jane Eyre, Charlotte Bronte
    “I knew,” he continued, “you would do me good in some way, at some time: I saw it in your eyes when I first beheld you; their expression and smile did not strike delight to my inmost heart so for nothing.”
  2. White Fang, Jack London
    “As he piled wood on the fire he discovered an appreciation of his own body which he had never felt before…It fascinated him, and he grew suddenly fond of this subtle flesh of his that worked so beautifully and smoothly and delicately. Then he would cast a glance of fear at the wolf-circle drawn expectantly about him, and like a blow the realization would strike him…”
  3. The Call of the Wild, Jack London
    “It was his introduction to the reign of primitive law… The facts of life took on a fiercer aspect, and while he faced that aspect uncowed, he faced it with all the latent cunning of his nature aroused.”
  4. Atlas Shrugged, Ayn Rand
    “Rand’s fourth, longest, and last novel… she considered it her magnum opus in the realm of fiction writing.”
  5. The Fountainhead, Ayn Rand
    “If you were in love you’d want to be broken, trampled, ordered, dominated, because that’s the impossible, in the inconceivable for you in your relations with people. That would be the one gift, the great exception you’d want to offer the man you loved. But it wouldn’t be easy for you.”
  6. Little Women, Louisa May Alcott
    “Feminine weaknesses and fainting spells are the direct result of our confining young girls to the house, bent over their needlework, and restrictive corsets.”
  7. Quo Vadis? Henryk Sienkiewicz
    “Riches, glory, power are mere smoke, vanity! The rich man will find a richer than himself; the greater glory of another will eclipse a man who is famous; a strong man will be conquered by a stronger. But can Cæsar himself, can any god even, experience greater delight or be happier than a simple mortal at the moment when at his breast there is breathing another dear breast, or when he kisses beloved lips? Hence love makes us equal to the gods.”
  8. Pride & Prejudice, Jane Austen
    “They walked on, without knowing in what direction. There was too much to be thought, and felt, and said, for attention to any other objects.”
  9. Wuthering Heights, Emily Bronte
    “‘And I pray one prayer–I repeat it till my tongue stiffens–Catherine Earnshaw, may you not rest as long as I am living; you said I killed you–haunt me, then! The murdered do haunt their murderers, I believe. I know that ghosts have wandered on earth. Be with me always–take any form–drive me mad! Only do not leave me in this abyss, where I cannot find you! Oh, God! it is unutterable! I cannot live without my life! I cannot live without my soul!'”
  10. Where the Red Fern Grows, Wilson Rawls
    “I told them I wasn’t giving up until my dogs did.”
  11. The Awakening, Kate Chopin
    “It sometimes entered Mr. Pontellier’s mind to wonder if his wife were not growing a little unbalanced mentally. He could see plainly that she was not herself. That is, he could not see that she was becoming herself and daily casting aside that fictitious self which we would assume like a garment with which to appear before the world.”
  12. East of Eden, John Steinbeck
    Steinbeck: “Everything I’ve ever written has been practice for this.”
  13. A Farewell to Arms, Ernest Hemingway
    “I kissed her and saw that her eyes were shut. I kissed both her shut eyes. I thought she was probably a little crazy. It was all right if she was. I did not care what I was getting into.”
  14. Sense & Sensibility, Jane Austen
    “It is not time or opportunity that is to determine intimacy;– it is disposition alone. Seven years would be insufficient to make some people acquainted with each other, and seven days are more than enough for others.”


2 responses to “Hands Down, the Best Books I’ve Ever Read!

  1. I was searching the internet for the Little Women quote – fun fact: that quote isn’t actually in the books, it was added in the 1994 version of the movie. So if you’ve actually read the books, you might want to pick a different quote that’s actually in them 😛

    • Haha thanks for the heads up, Joel! I actually didn’t have the book next to me while I was writing this post which is why i found this quote online, but I’ve definitely read the book! Multiple times, actually. But apparently not enough to remember differences in the movie and book! Why were you looking for this quote in particular? 🙂

Leave a Reply

