Google Wave = “Social Media on Crack”

Are you stressed about your major lack of Google Wave? Still no invitation in your inbox?

Well I feel like I’ve been living under a rock. Google Wave just appeared out of nowhere! Okay, so its been around since May… Shocking, really, since I still have no real idea what it is or what it’s capable of doing. So I decided to write a blog post about it. I’ve heard The Wave described as everything from “social media on crack” to “a faster, real-time version of a wiki or online document collaboration”. The Google initiative combines email, instant messaging, videos, Google maps, and more.

Feeling Left Out…

So why am I not Google Waving it up right now, you might ask? Well, erm… I wasn’t invited. But in my defense, they only invited a few people. Okay fine, around 100,000, although that number has been steadily growing. All personal sentiments aside, I think that’s a pretty stupid move. Who are the 100,000 people going to start a Wave with if none of their friends got an invite? You obviously can’t Wave all by your lonesome.

Join the Party

If you’d rather be Google Waving it up right now, you can request an invitation.  Or you can buy one off of eBay for $80-100. But that’s a little like paying for your friends, isn’t it? Or sleeping your way through the judging panel. Plus, why pay for something that’s FREE? If it was me, I would go straight through Google. Or hopefully a good friend will pass on an invitation! Here’s to hoping. If you end up going through Google, the form you have to fill out feels a little like a college application. Think of all of the generic, fake heartfelt things you wrote on your college application and apply that towards new developing technology…

I Heard It Stinks, Anyway

India’s Infotech points out nine inherent flaws in Google Wave – and why it’s NOT the next killer app. Thank you Infotech for making me feel SO much better about Google Wave! And for still not having the stupid app. I’ve also heard that its utter “chaos” and may make your “head explode”. For now, I choose to ignore the trend. I think I’ll just live vicariously through Samuel L. Jackson’s Pulp Fiction version of Google Wave:

Leave a Reply

