Carla Bruni-Sarkozy Cannot Be Outdone.

This woman is freaking amazing. She was a famous model. Now we know and love her (we can debate this opinion, if you’d like) as the First Lady of France. SINGER, too!? Again, simply amazing. My French-speaking roommate alerted me to this music video:

I do not speak French but this song is so relaxing. Perfect for right before bed. Want to know what she’s saying in that oh-so-tranquil French voice of hers? So did I…

“I’m told that our lives aren’t worth much,
They pass like an instant, like wilting roses.
I’m told that time slipping by is a bastard
Making its coat of our sorrows.
Yet someone told me…

That you still loved me
Someone told me…
That you still loved me.
Well ? Could that be possible?

I’m told that fate makes fun of us,
That it gives us nothing and promises everything,
When happiness seems to be within our reach,
We reach out and find ourselves like fools.
Yet someone told me…

That you still loved me
Someone told me…
That you still loved me.
Well ? Could that be possible?

So who said that you still loved me?
I don’t remember any more, it was late at night,
I can still hear the voice, but I can no longer see the face,
“He loves you, it’s secret, don’t tell him I told you.”
You see, someone told me

That you still loved me
Someone told me…
That you still loved me.
Well ? Could that be possible?”

-Translation taken from http://nichitastanescu.wordpress.com/2007/04/05/quelquun-ma-dit-carla-bruni-translation/
Leave a Reply

