It’s Not How Good You Are, It’s How Good You WANT To Be

I’m reading this book for my Creative Processes class. Boring? Think again.

I would recommend reading It’s Not How Good You Are, It’s How Good You Want To Be to pretty much anyone who wants to be successful in their chosen field. It’s not a very intense read – I’ve just been flipping through pages that look interesting.

Here’s an excerpt from a chapter entitled “My Finest Hour”:

“I remember the moment vividly.

My feet seemed not to touch the pavement and I thought, ‘I am going to be fired for these pictures.’

Would I rather be fired for having done them or not be fired having not done them?

There was no doubt in my mind. I would rather be fired.

Those few seconds on 74th Street were my greatest moment in advertising.

When I got back and showed them to my partner he thought I was mad.

Fortunately the client loved them. ‘This is art,’ he said.

They won every award there was to be won.

The sad conclusion is the client got fired.”

That was almost all of the chapter right there. He (Paul Arden) makes his point in the title of the chapter and gives you inspiration and wisdom in just a few sentences.

Leave a Reply

